About

National Peace Officers and Fire Fighters Benefit Association 

NPFBA is a non-profit benefit trust jointly sponsored by California Law Enforcement (CLEA) and California Association of Professional Firefighters (CAPF). CLEA and CAPF have provided quality Long Term Disability coverage to law enforcement and fire service personnel since 1985.

In 1999, CLEA and CAPF established NPFBA to provide quality, affordable long-term care benefits to law enforcement and fire service personnel and spouses.

NPFBA is managed by a Board of Trustees from CLEA and CAPF.

NPFBA is a non-profit, mutual benefit trust, established and operated under Certificates of Authority issued by the CA Dept. of Insurance. NPFBA complies with the requirements of the California Insurance Code governing benefit and relief associations for peace officers and firefighters, as well as the applicable requirements of the Internal Revenue Code and the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended. All NPFBA funds (over $102 million as of 2018) are dedicated to its non-profit purposes and the investment of its funds is actively managed by Wells Fargo Advisors, one of the nation’s most respected investment and consulting firms.  The investments are conducted under the guidance and on-going review of the NPFBA Trustees and pursuant to the NPFBA Investment Policy document that sets out NPFBA’s investment objectives and guidelines. The assets of NPFBA are held in stocks and bonds, cash and cash equivalents, and other investments with the goal of providing long-term growth and protection.

NPFBA

 

• Established in 1999

• Over 12,000 Plan Participants

• Over $102 million in assets

• Average policy issue age – 42

• Average monthly cost to Participant – $69

Board of trustees

Dave Boffi
Co-Chairman
DalyCityPOA
dboffi@NPFBA.org


Joe Chirillo
CFO
Beverly Hills POA
jchirillo@NPFBA.org


Mario Yagoda
Secretary
Glendale POA
myagoda@NPFBA.org

Erick Mattson
Co-Chairman
Redding Firefighters

emattson@NPFBA.org


Dennis Campanale
CFO
West Sacramento Firefighters

dcampanale@NPFBA.org


Nick Faraclas
Secretary
Riverside Firefighters

nfaraclas@NPFBA.org

Gene Dangel
San Ramon Firefighters

gdangel@NPFBA.org


Aimee New
City of Sonora Firefighters

anew@NPFBA.org


Steve Sandefer
Hemet Firefighters

ssandefer@NPFBA.org

Jerry Hall

DSA of Santa Clara Co.

jhall@NPFBA.org


Kevin Mickelson

DSA of Sacramento Co.

kmickelson@NPFBA.org


Darin Ryburn

Burbank POA

dryburn@NPFBA.org